All students in the Academy belong to one of 4 Communities:

  • Nightingdale
  • Pankhurst
  • Attenborough
  • Mandela

The Community a student is in, dictates what colour tie they wear throughout their time in the Academy. Students’ forms are separated into the 5 main age ranges:

  • Year 7 (including Year 6 during transition days)
  • Year 8
  • Year 9
  • Year 10
  • Year 11

Each of these age groups has it’s own Head of Year and they are responsible for the academic progress of the students within their years, and also the programme of activities covered during form time. Forms in each of the age ranges undertake a different programme of activities that are tailored to their specific educational needs.

More information on form groups within our communities (including the member of staff leading these groups) can be found on the Staff List page.